Cart 0
 

Family Beyond Cancer

This year in the United States, more than 15,000 families will hear the dreadful news that their child has been diagnosed with cancer. As they make their way through treatment, they will face a thousand battles aside from the one happening with their kid’s cellular biology. Moms and dads might seldom see one another save for passing in the hospital parking lot. Mounting medical costs can be overwhelming on their own, and even more so, with one of the parents quitting their job to manage the care. Siblings might feel a loneliness from an understandable lack of attention. Friends and neighbors will want to help, but they won’t really know how. 

Because of these realities and so many more, the family unit bears unimaginable weight and is exposed to profound risk. And that’s just not going to work for us. 

Lighthouse Family Retreat is a faith-based non-profit that exists to strengthen every family living through childhood cancer. We host restorative retreats and develop valuable resources so that families and their support systems can find hope in God and help in their fight. 

 
_MG_8012.JPG
 
 

Our Work

 
 

Steadfast
Foundation

Everything we do starts and ends with an understanding of the Gospel. This is the good news that while this world is broken and hurting and filled with afflictions like cancer, it wasn’t meant to be this way. And because of God’s grace extended to us through his Son Jesus, it won’t always be this way. This gives us ultimate hope and imagination for the work we do and the kiddos we love and the families we serve. 

Side Note #1: You do not have to share our faith in order to engage with our organization, but you will encounter it along the way, so we want to be upfront from the onset. 

Side Note #:2 Many of our fellow Christians come to us with all kinds of emotions including doubts and anger. We absolutely understand and want to offer a safe place to wrestle with God. 

 

 

Retreats

Our flagship offering is a respite for families living through childhood cancer, who we call our Golden Families. We serve them by organizing volunteers, called Family Partners, to provide a week of deep rest, relational connection, great laughter, and palpable kindness. We held our first retreat on August 8, 2000, serving six families and since that time, we have made lifelong friendships and unforgettable memories with people we now see as our own family. 

 

 

Resources

Over the last 20 years, we have learned a thing or two from the families we serve and the Family Partners that serve with us. We are working on packaging this wisdom and insight into helpful resources that range in format from articles, to podcasts, to action plans and activity handbooks. We would love to host every single family on a retreat, but we understand it’s not possible. Resources are our way of bringing the magic of retreat to them. Look for more on these resources in the fall of 2018! 

 

Our Team

12140152_10207769251819273_7834645877877341142_o.jpg

Chris Woodruff
Executive Director & CEO

chris@lighthousefamilyretreat.org

 

cropped keg.jpg

Kalen Gary
Executive Administrator & Office Manager
kalen@lighthousefamilyretreat.org

 

Mike.JPG

Mike Tamborello
VP, Retreat Operations
mike@lighthousefamilyretreat.org

Screen Shot 2018-05-14 at 8.54.40 AM.png

Steve Knudsen
VP, Development
steve@lighthousefamilyretreat.org

Screen Shot 2018-05-28 at 1.15.08 PM.png

Julie Fesefeldt
Retreat Family Manager
julie@lighthousefamilyretreat.org

Screen Shot 2018-05-26 at 12.10.55 PM.png

Christy Richards
Retreat Family Coordinator
christy@lighthousefamilyretreat.org

Screen Shot 2018-05-28 at 1.17.18 PM.png

Scott Wade
Partnerships Manager
scott@lighthousefamilyretreat.org

Potential Headshot 2.jpeg

Adam Tomberlin
Donor Officer
adam@lighthousefamilyretreat.org

KD cropped.jpg

Katelyn DeVos
Development and Marketing Coordinator
katelyn@lighthousefamilyretreat.org

 

unnamed.jpg

Clint Perry
Retreat Systems and Communications
clint@lighthousefamilyretreat.org

Screen Shot 2018-08-06 at 1.05.51 PM.png

Jennifer Ward
Director, Partnerships
jennifer@lighthousefamilyretreat.org

IMG_2026.jpg

Angie Morris
Finance Coordinator
angie@lighthousefamilyretreat.org

Our 2018 Board

 Cliff Atfield

Cliff Atfield      Treasurer

 Becki Cedrone

Becki Cedrone Secretary

 Chip Debartola  Vice Chair

Chip DeBartola
Vice Chair

 Kevin Floyd

Kevin Floyd

RickHollidayLinkedinHeadShot_preview.jpg

Rick Holliday

lage.jpg

Michael Lage

 Dennis Latimer

Dennis Latimer

 Alvin LeBourgeois

Alvin LeBourgeois

ERivers.jpg

Elle Rivers

Screen Shot 2018-05-28 at 2.11.53 PM.png

Rebecca Sills
Chair

Screen Shot 2018-05-26 at 12.01.04 PM.png

Jon Vaughan

White, Courtney.jpg

Courtney White